Apple Watch Button vs Apple Watch

Which do you prefer?  I’m testing both.

IMG_6959

One has unlimited battery life, an always-on display and comes with a $20 price tag.

One has many more features and comes with a $400 price tag.

Here is the problem.  I have talked to three people who own the watch this week about their experience.  One occasionally wears it, one wore it for a month, one wore it for a week.  Is there a problem here?  What is it about this device that seems to be turning people off?  I really want to know because I’m starting the experience (now day 3).  I’m not convinced yet whether it is the greatest thing since sliced bread, if it is more like 10 day old stale gluten free bread when all you really want is a steak or if it is something in between.

Is the Apple Watch able to put technology to work for you? Can you persuade me?

You can reach me with your opinion, your experience, or if you just want to vent (or boast) about how the Apple Watch does or doesn’t enrich your life.  Also, if you’d like the button version I can hook you up.

Reach out

On Facebook

On Twitter

On LinkedIn

On the Contact Page

Or call/text me.  My number is (408) 466-xxxx where xxxx = the year I moved to Silicon Valley, 1997.  Good year.  Maybe I’ll answer your call with my watch…

2 comments

  1. I’d love to hear more of WHY you feel that way, and why the people you talked to stopped using theirs. I got mine on April 24 and haven’t gone a day without it. I wouldn’t want to, to be honest.

    Whether it’s displaying the weather or my calendar, the fitness tracking*, the notifications, the call and text features, the Now Playing Glance, Apple Pay, Passbook, or turn-by-turn directions, I find myself using the Watch effortlessly (and mindlessly) dozens of times a day. It’s one of those things where if you expect it to do everything, or if you actively think about using it, you are going to be disappointed. It should fade into the background of your day-to-day life and only insert itself with gentle taps and light usage. It’s not a magic wand. Yet.

    *This has been the most important feature to me. I’ve been more active since getting my Watch, and more aware of when I’m not being active. It actually motivates me, in a way that my Fitbit Flex didn’t. I stopped actively tracking my activity with my Fitbit after about a month, and stopped wearing it completely not long after. After 70-some days, my Apple Watch is just as motivating to me as it was on my first full day of use.

    1. Thank you for sharing docwallaby! Fitness tracking is interesting. I’m still getting used to turning the tracking on and off and missed recording a 2 mile walk because I didn’t go beyond the calorie setting, user error. As to my being torn, a few more days into it and I’m still undecided. In some ways it is great, in others its surprising the experience wasn’t improved before shipping. I do agree that it is becoming something that fades into the background, especially on weekends when I get far less notifications. I’m beginning to wonder if my expectations were higher than they should have been. After wearing it all day every day for 4-6 weeks I’ll know much better.

      Here is more info on the watch wearers I spoke with last week.

      The occasional wearer (male, mid 30s) uses it as a fashion accessory, typically wearing when going out to SF tech meetups. The utility of the watch to him is to show he’s an early adopter but he doesn’t get much advantage from daily use because he really uses it just like any other watch in his collection.

      The wearer who wore it a month (male, mid 40s) is deeply embedded in the Android ecosystem and tested it out for 30 days for work purposes. After the test the device didn’t stick-not a surprise. He’s back using an Android Wear device that doesn’t look too far from any other sports watch one might see, which he personally likes regardless of ecosystem. He also claims the voice interface is better for setting reminders with Android Wear.

      The person who wore it a week (female, mid 30s) when explaining her reasons surprised me with her #1 reason for quitting. This person is an iOS device user and relies heavily on notifications, for which each type of notification on her iPhone 6 has a different sound (she easily gets over 20 audible notifications/hr including email). With the Apple Watch, however, the distinction between notifications is lost. She also disliked how she was only notified on the watch or on the phone, not both, and this caused her to miss an important meeting. She had other reasons, but the one that was the straw that broke the camel’s back is the lack of notification differentiation.

Leave a Reply

